Home » Uncategorized » 7/17/2017 SEVENTEEN MONTHS!

7/17/2017 SEVENTEEN MONTHS!

Hey there fam!!

This week was another one full of adventures! It sounds like all of you had a busy week as well which is what I like to hear! OH and when I opened up all the boating pictures, all I could think was “four. more. weeks” Lol! It looks like you guys had a blast!!

The week started off in Managua AGAIN. We went to the new missionaries meeting which was really fun! I loved being able to learn from all of the new missionaries and being with them. I have been able to experience my last 12 weeks of the mission a little bit like my first 12 and it has been really really fun!

Wednesday we had a multizona and it was my last one! What a crazy day! I decided it was time to overcome my fear one last time and play a special number at the multizona. I have told myself my whole mission that I would do it in a reunion with all of the missionaries and I finally worked myself up to doing it. I felt really good and I rocked it!

That morning I was thinking a little bit about my talent and how I have mistreated it a little bit and hid it. I remembered when I was twelve years old and some things were happening with Corbin. That one weekend when he totaled the truck and then got kicked out of the house is a weekend that I will never forget. I remember going downstairs that day and seeing that my world was unraveling in a way. Watching my brother walk out of the house was not an easy sight. I remember that I stopped Corbin in the hallway and made him promise me one thing: that he would come to my piano recital that weekend. As he left, I was afraid that I would never see him again and that things would change forever. That weekend rolled around and so did my piano recital. We got to the recital and I remember seeing the blue ranger parked there and Corbin was there waiting. After it was all over, we went to lunch at Rumbi and things started to get a little bit better after that.

As I sat there meditating about this huge life moment of mine, I had quite the impact in my heart. My talent for piano was something that brought my family back together in a very ugly time. I felt a huge love in my heart in that moment for the talent that God has given me. I regret having hidden this talent for so long having fear to share it. But now I realize how much this talent will bless the lives of other people and I need to take advantage of it.

In the Multizona, I also got to share my final testimony which was so surreal but it felt so good!

This week was also a bit stressful, but we were able to have a baptism at the end which was really awesome! It was really hard getting this little guy baptized because his mom wouldn’t give us permission, but God finally touched her heart and she let him.

AND today is my 17 month mark which is just sooo surreal and I can’t believe how fast time has flown by! We celebrated with some icecream today at an ice cream parlor named POPS.

That’s about all for this week! I am happy and still just trucking along! I love you all so much and I will see you all in a few short weeks! WOOHOO!!!

Love, Shay
Hermana Staker
Mision Nicaragua Managua Norte
Febrero 2016- Agosto 2017

Leave a Reply

